The Beginning of Adulting

This week was the conclusion of week two as a public relations intern at KemperLesnik. In just two short weeks I have been exposed to the PR world in more ways than I could have imagined. I have been placed on teams with a variety of different clients doing projects that can help my team in many ways. My clients include Aon Affinity, Argo and various wine festivals in Illinois and surrounding states. My projects cover a wide variety of PR aspects and I have already been given the opportunity to apply what I have learned in the classroom at work.

 

My most recent tasks include analyzing social media accounts, composing press releases, media pitching, composing media lists, event planning, and various research assignments. What I have learned so far is to never stop asking questions and to take the vocabulary used in the office and see how it relates to what I have already learned. By doing this I have already enhanced my academic knowledge and expanding far past what I could have ever learned in the classroom. Another opportunity I have been given is attending a brunch with numerous esteemed professionals in the PR field. This gave me the chance to start networking in professional settings being a part of an agency and not just a University of Illinois student.

 

The best part of my internship thus far is witnessing how much I have already grown as a professional. In a short amount of time, I have been able to experience office culture as well as seeing my place within the office. I am very excited for the rest of the summer and I can’t wait to see everything I can accomplish underneath the amazing leadership I am experiencing. When I return to Champaign-Urbana in the fall I will no longer be just a student, but a business professional.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑